Bucketlist

images

I recently suggested making an attempt to see the Aurora Borealis to a handful of my friends. To me it just sounded like a good adventure and something within our capabilities, living in the northernmost part of the United States. However, the reaction of one of my friends made me pause: “That’s on my bucket list!”

It’s not like I had never heard of a bucket list before. It simply hadn’t occurred to me to make one myself. That seemed like something that older people did when they started to worry that they wouldn’t fit everything into their lives. But my friend had a bucket list…. so why shouldn’t I start one. There are lots of things I want to do and a bucket list might just be a wise organizational decision!

1. See the Aurora Borealis.

I’m pretty proud to say that I’ve already ticked off a number of typical bucket list options- climbing the Great Wall of China, eating pizza in Italy, and visiting a volcano- So I decided that I had to get a bit creative. The creativity will make for a more interesting life as I pursue these anyway. Here’s a sampling of some of my new goals:

2. Stand on the edge of “the door to hell” in Derweze, Turkmenistan Unknown

3. Try all 10 of the “must-try exotic fruits”

4. Ride an elephant

5. Visit the mask of sorrow in Magadan, Russia

6. Visit the Fairy pools in Skye, Scotlandimages-1

 

Have you heard of all of those? Am I inspiring you to go look something up? Many of those were new to me before I started surfing the internet for my idea search.

But of course, I couldn’t resist a few of the more stereotypical bucket list items as well:

7. Hike the Inca trail to Machu PichuUnknown-1

8. Visit the Egyptian Pyramids

9. Visit the Grand Canyon

10. Have my picture taken at platform 9 3/4 in King’s Cross Station

I think if I accomplish any of these I’ll live a pretty exceptional life. What’s on your bucket list?!

Leave a Reply

