Standing on the other side of Tourism

This month I became a museum volunteer. Every other Sunday I take the DC metro to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. I spend the day answering questions (mostly “Where’s the bathroom?”) and giving elevator speeches. It’s stunning to think that so many times in the past I was the stunned person, wandering through a museum, asking questions and soaking everything in. The tables have turned and I think I’m gaining even more satisfaction from answering the questions.

The topic of the holocaust museum may be somber, but the mission is important. I feel fulfilled when I’m there. I hope the employees and volunteers were gaining the same satisfaction in the foreign museums I visited. Everybody deserves to have a deep experience like this in their own town.

Next goal: find friends as easily in my new home city as I did in hostels!

How do you seek fulfillment when you’re not traveling?

US Holocaust Museum in Washington

Leave a Reply

